Praise for Cold Barrel Zero:

Selected as an Amazon Best Book of the Month

“An unputdownable blast! The writing is spare and masterful, you care about the characters, and the action is hair-raising, authentic, at times even mesmerizing. Cold Barrel Zero is one of the must-read thrillers of the year!”—Ben Coes, New York Times Bestselling Author of Power Down and Independence Day

“Quirk takes a major step forward. The story is expertly stripped down, the action relentless, and the characters multilayered. A lethal game of cat and mouse fuels Quirk’s third and best novel, a military spy thriller in which one all-out conspiracy is met by another.”—Kirkus

“Matthew Quirk has elevated to must-read thriller status faster than seems possible. Cold Barrel Zero is a brilliantly researched and written tour de force from an author who understands both high-stakes action and fine writing.” ―Michael Koryta, bestselling author of The Prophetand Those Who Wish Me Dead

“Deadly. High-tech. Quirk spins an adrenaline-fueled, military-based action adventure. Another hard-to-put-down adventure from Quirk, this is even more chilling for its air of plausibility. A fine thriller.”―Booklist (starred review)

“Quirk goes flat-out explosive in this superior military adventure novel. The riveting battle scenes are the best in the business. Reader will look forward to seeing more of the skilled and deadly John Hayes.”—Publisher’s Weekly (starred and boxed review).

“A relentlessly paced military thriller . . . Sophisticated storytelling [and] whiplash pacing . . . Cold Barrel Zero delivers some clever twists and startling surprises. . . . There are layers of moral ambiguity and questions at every turn.”―Art Taylor, Washington Post

“[Quirk’s] best book yet . . . Quirk delves deep into the world of international terror and covert operations, and writes with such authority you half expect his prose to be riddled with redactions. The action dazzles. The characters feel authentic and fully fleshed. The threats seem all too real.”―Los Angeles Review of Books

“Adrenaline junkies need look no further than Matthew Quirk’s Cold Barrel Zero for their next fix. The action is relentless and exceptionally inventive. . . . This is a must-read for fans of Jason Bourne or Jack Reacher.”―BookPage

“Quirk’s fast-paced plot keeps the pages turning as readers journey with Byrne on a dangerous adventure. Highly recommended for fans of rapid action with down-to-the-wire conclusions.”―Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for The Directive:

The Directive is a nonstop, heart-pounding ride in which moral blacks and whites turn gray in ‘the efficient alignment of power and interests’ that is big-time politics. Quirk has another high-powered hit on his hands”
Booklist (Starred Review)

“A roller coaster of a thriller…The Directive does for the Fed what Alan Drury did for Senate intrigue with his Pulitzer Prize winning Advise and Consent, what Aaron Sorkin did for the White House in The West Wing and, now, what Beau Willimon, is doing for the Congress with House of Cards…Quirk’s writings drips with the kind of eye for the telling detail that only a canny reporter, detective, or spy possesses….If you like Ludlum you are certain to like Quirk.”

“Sustained by Quirk’s research, an engrossing plot, the ever-increasing tension of a deadly cat and mouse game, and high stakes, this page-turner will attract not only fans of such financial-thriller authors as Christopher Reich and Joseph Finder but all those looking for a fun, fast-flowing beach read.”
Library Journal

“[A] thrilling sequel to the superb THE 500…Fascinating details (how to pick which locks, how to con trusting people), along with Ford’s character and his relationship with ultra-understanding fiancée Annie, combine with a relentlessly charged plot to create another stellar thriller.”
The Cleveland Plain Dealer

Another exciting page-turner…the mix of business-insider insight and deception propels this compelling story from Quirk.”
Associated Press

“The consummate thriller writer….A top-notch thriller with a delicious twist.”
Mystery Scene

“Fast-paced sequel to THE 500…Quirk keeps the action credible, from Beltway backstory to the white-knuckled caper at the New York Fed.”
Publishers Weekly

“There’s enough action for three thrillers and plenty of twists and turns.”—Kirkus Reviews 



Praise for The 500:

“The Firm goes to Washington, only with a whole lot more action.”
—James Patterson

“In his first novel, journalist Quirk takes on the Washington D.C. power structure in a thundering David-and-Goliath tale of corruption…This is a real page turner, with high stakes action that doesn’t stop. Expect this to be one of the season’s most talked-about debut thrillers. A sequel is in the offing and will be much anticipated.”
Booklist (Starred Review)

“Quirk’s engaging first novel transplants the milieu of Grisham’s The Firm to the world of political lobbyists…Quirk supplies just enough characterization and journalistic detail of Washington, D.C. life to ground his story as he launches into a streamlined, gripping man-on-the-run thriller.”
Publishers Weekly

“A gripping new Beltway white-knuckler…Quirk is such an expert in escalation that, like a frog in a pot of boiling water, you’ll be done before you even realize it.”
Entertainment Weekly. A- grade and featured on the Must List.

“This gripping debut novel by Matthew Quirk will have readers enthralled from the opening sentence… The action never lets up for a second, and the pages cannot be turned fast enough as Ford’s life begins to unravel.”—The Associated Press

“What an absolutely phenomenal, kickass thriller. Not since The Firm has a novel left me this breathless. This one’s going to be huge.”
—Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of Paranoia and Buried Secrets

The 500 is a riveting page-turner in the tradition of John Grisham’s The Firm. It’s smart, intriguing, packed with action and heart, and loaded with detail on the hidden workings of Washington. It’s going to be the big debut thriller of the year.”
—Jeff Abbott, New York Times Bestselling Author of Adrenaline

The 500 delivers a whole new level of urgency and political relevance — and high-octane storytelling — all in the smart, sharp voice of a con-man turned Washington insider. Get ready to cancel appointments for this one. Full of fascinating detail, gritty action and the ever-appealing lure of the con, The 500 won’t let you put it down.”
—Zoe Ferraris